//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Chad Ochocinco Offers College Football Player a Free Pair of Shoes

Chad Ochocinco is well known for his sense of humor and entertaining touchdown celebrations. Some of which include putting the football with a pylon, proposing to a Bengals Cheerleader, and  holding up a  sign after scoring a touchdown that read, “Dear NFL, please Don’t fine me again!”

On March 5, Ochocinco wasn’t noticed for his unique touchdown dances. Instead, he was noticed for trying to be generous. A twitter conversation shows that Ochocinco tried giving Yves Batoba, a cornerback for Oklahoma State, a free pair Louboutin shoes, which cost upwards of $300.

Batoba, a shoe fanatic, tweeted that he doesn’t have a pair of Louboutin shoes like Ochocinco. Ochocinco tweeted back saying “What size are you kind sir, i get them free i can help you with a pair.” Batoba made the wise decision and declined the free shoes from Ochocinco for fear that he could get in trouble by the NCAA for accepting them. Batoba tweeted, “Man if I wasn’t afraid of that being an NCAA violation, I would. They’ll get u for anything nowadays.”

The NCAA prohibits any athlete from accepting expenses or gifts of any kind from agents or anyone else who wishes to provide services to the student-athlete.

Batoba showed a lot of maturity by declining Ochocinco’s generous offer. Some college athletes can’t resist the temptation and do accept gifts from agents, donors or people in the community. My hope is that Batoba would have made the same decision if the offer was made in a private setting and not on Twitter. I think he would have, but you never know.

About Alejandro

My hometown is the great city of Portland, Oregon. I currently reside in Eugene and attend the University of Oregon. I am in my senior year of college majoring in Public Relations. In addition to being a student, I work for Ethos Magazine, a student-run publication. I 'm also a communications intern for the University of Oregon School of Law. I am a sports fanatic who loves the Portland Trail and Oregon Ducks. In my free time I enjoy playing basketball, attending sporting events, and spending time with friends and family. I can read, watch, and talk about sports all day every day. PR and Sports, it's what I love!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

